Quadruple Alliance. Formed in London on 2 August 1718 by the Holy Roman Empire, the United Provinces of the Netherlands, France and Great Britain, with the aim of forming a coalition in response to Spanish belligerence that refused to abide by the Treaty of Utrecht of 1713 in relation to the former Spanish territories in Italy and the Netherlands. By signing the "Treaty of The Hague" (17 February 1720), Spain acceded to the Treaty of the Quadruple Alliance, which reorganised a division of disputed territories. This treaty was ratified by King Philip V of Spain in Aranjuez on 20 May of that year. Detail of the declarations of the ministers and plenipontiaries Leopold Count of Windischgratz, the Marquis of Beretti Landi, Cadogan and Fleureian de Morville, at The Hague, by which they authenticate the copy with the original document of the treaty. Collection of the Treaties of Peace, Alliance, Commerce adjusted by the Crown of Spain with the Foreign Powers (Colección de los Tratados de Paz, Alianza, Comercio ajustados por la Corona de España con las Potencias Extranjeras). Volume II. Madrid, 1800. Historical Military Library of Barcelona, Catalonia, Spain.
Image Reference: alb5432882
Photographer: N/A
Credit Line: Album / Prisma
License type: Rights Managed (RM)
Model Release: Nej
Property Release: Nej
  • Rights to be cleared for artworks not in public domain. No model release.

Show usage license: Download (PDF)

We are your independent image portal with royalty free photos, rights managed, microstock and editorial images.

With more than 250 million images and our outstanding customer service we can help you with all your image needs. Once we have created an account you can download all the images in high resolution 24 hours a day 7 days a week.